Tastes of Portlandia

Antoinette Perry
4 min readJun 22, 2021
Fried Egg I’m In Love

Turns out that when you’re fresh out of college, living on your own, working full time and you aren’t a master chef, you end up eating out more than you anticipated. Portland’s food scene is diverse enough to suit every palette and all types of eaters. I am the daughter of a chef, not one myself, nor am I food critic. But I do know when my tastebuds are happy, so reporting live… here are the best Tastes of Portlandia.

Fried Egg I’m In Love

This delectable breakfast joint offers a unique take on your average morning meal with a handful of egg sandwiches, burritos, and bowls listed on the menu. This place is hard to forget as most of their menu items are a play on words. I ordered the Yolko Ono which was rich in flavor; the homemade pesto that topped this sausage and fried egg sandwich really tied it all together making it a great breakfast to-go!

The Brunch Box

Not your traditional brunch restaurant, thats for sure. The Brunch Box offers a wide range of burgers to choose from; it was a hard decision to choose just one, but I went with the Outlaw burger which I found to be very appetizing. The combination of the house BBQ and mayo on the beef and bacon based burger enhanced the overall flavor of the burger. I have to say, the Texas toast is a great bun choice for this burger — truly made me feel better about having a burger at 9:30 a.m.

Bamboo Sushi

Bamboo Sushi

When I say this is the best sushi I have every had — I truly mean this is the best sushi I have ever had. With that said, I am unfortunately allergic to most seafood, so I chose a vegetarian route and it was sensational. Inside of The Green Machine includes tempura fried green beans and green onion topped with avocado and a tastefully sweet cilantro chili aioli. All the flavors came together and I am yearning for more of that sauce!

Moberi

I tend to make smoothie bowls at home, but when I am too lazy, or out of a key ingredient, I turn to the pros for a healthy and refreshing treat which Moberi definitely provided. I decided to order the Rip City Bowl (mainly out of PDX love) and it was full of flavor. You’ll find this beautifully constructed bowl topped with granola, almond butter, banana, blueberry, hemp seeds, bee pollen, and honey. The maker is the bee pollen. It’s powdery texture bodes well with the smooth açaí smoothie base and its flavor, alongside the honey, is generally sweet with a flower-like taste. Definitely a unique topping to a delicious smoothie bowl.

Moberi

Never Coffee Lab

Never Coffee

This last item is for coffee lovers. If you don’t know Never Coffee, you’ll want to for a unique coffee experience. Never Coffee brings the culture of Portland into its lattes for a taste you’ll never forget. A signature latte on the menu is the Oregon which blends their signature grounds with cascade hops, dulce de leche, and Jacobsen sea salt for a jolt upon your first sip. Another latte worth covering is the Rich Kid as this eccentric coffee integrates rose water (an ode to Rose City) in the base and blends spices of saffron and cardamom providing equivocal taste.

Well there you have it — a short review on a city full of flavor! Whether you are vegan, a pescatarian, or one with no dietary restrictions whatsoever, there is a wide range of restaurants for you in Portland that will make you a loyal customer. On top of it all, PDX breeds a ton of independent restaurants as opposed to building up a bunch of chains. The Portland pride never ends, especially when it comes to good food.

--

--

Antoinette Perry
0 Followers

Graduate of Arizona State University. Communications + Media Analysis. PR Account Coordinator. Chicago native. Portland, OR based.